Fruits of Virtual Labor

odesk_logo_1

 

It’s a good feeling spending my own money and buying stuff without using  my husband’s remittance.  I withdrew funds from my oDesk account into my Payoneer debit Mastercard yesterday.  Although there was typhoon signal #2, me and my daughter Darla braved the rain and wind to drive to town.  We went to withdraw money from an ATM using the debit card.  From the amount transferred from oDesk to Payoneer,  there were deducted the charges for card activation fee of $9.95, loading facilitation fee of $2.50 (because I was very eager to get hold of my hard earned money rather than wait for 2 more business days for regular loading, haha!),  and a $3 maintenance fee for the month of July (this I cannot understand why they have to deduct already when I will still have to use my card and for sure there will not only be 2 transactions this month).  As money came out of the machine, I was all smiles.  The bills were new and crisp.  I breathed a sigh of relief – the fruits of my virtual labor!
fruits of virtual labor
The first  thing we did was to go to the church and offer thanksgiving mass for this grace that we received.  This money is a welcome treat for us.  During hard times like this, every centavo counts, especially when it is hard earned money.  Why hard earned? It is because I had to be up during the night, and my sleep time has changed, not to mention that I still have the day chores.  After that, bills for city services were paid in cash, groceries and personal stuff were purchased using the debit card.  By Monday, I plan to purchase the needed construction materials for my attic.  Isn’t that great?

Well, I’m real glad that I have job at oDesk.  I am very grateful to my clients who trusted in me and my capabilities.  I shall be sharing with you my experience when I started with my very first assignment.  I have 5 currently, and they are varied.  I am learning a lot new stuff from all of these.  So far, my clients are very much pleased and satisfied with my performance.  In fact, 2 of them increased my hourly rate as an incentive for a job well done.  As a consequence, they have not ended the assignment and they said that they intend to give other tasks to me.  Looking back, I thank God and pray that He continue to bless the employers in their business so they will always have jobs to outsource to freelancers like me.  I pray for good health, strength, and peace of mind for everyone.

71809

11 thoughts on “Fruits of Virtual Labor

  1. we had the same feeling, mam, when the salaries were withdrawed! i used Unionbank’s EON card with Paypal. definitely it really feels good that your working from home, be able to see your family while at work, and your buyers appreciate the work that you do for them.

    this is a really nice blog that i can relate to. keep it up! 🙂

    • Thanks Mike!
      It’s true….I felt really great when I finally held the “fruits” in my hands….I love the flexibility of working at home at the same time being able to look after my family.

  2. Thanks Mike!
    It’s true….I felt really great when I finally held the “fruits” in my hands….I love the flexibility of working at home at the same time being able to look after my family.

  3. Im sure many of you are like me and one of the first things you do in the morning is head here and check out the new post. Along with seeing the new posts, I’m also always checking out the blog roll rss feed and watching them grow, or shrink sometimes. In one of my past …but all in all excellent site. Keep it up!

  4. Just wanted to drop you a line to say, I enjoy reading your site. I thought about starting a blog myself but don’t have the time.
    Oh well maybe one day…. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Welcome aboard! « The Neophyte Freelancer

  6. Pingback: In Between Family and oDesk « The Neophyte Freelancer

  7. Pingback: From Rugs to “Riches” « The Neophyte Freelancer

  8. Pingback: Hello! Anybody home? « The Neophyte Freelancer

  9. Pingback: Curiousity Did Not Kill The Cat « The Neophyte Freelancer

Leave a Reply

