The Spirit is Willing, But the Flesh is Weak

odesk_logo_1

files

I now recall the first 2 weeks in my first contract.  The employer’s backlog was quite enormous, and a  lot of things need to be done. I did what I am supposed to do, giving my 100% to the job during the allotted time. However, my eagerness to work and finish as many tasks as I can, stressed me out. More so because I was not used to working during US Eastern time from 8am to 5pm (night to dawn over here in the Philippines). The exhaustion and drastic change in my sleep pattern took a toll on my weary body. I still endeavored to work, but not as fast and productive as the previous days. As a consequence, I got sick. There are times when the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. I made sure to leave a message to the employer so as not to keep him wondering why I have not been working. I was a bit ashamed because I wasn’t able to deliver output during the days I was indisposed.

As soon as I got back to work, I apologized and talked to the employer about my concerns. I suggested that he end the assignment with me so he can hire someone to work full time. I told him that I do not want to be the reason that the business is not moving as expected. Better be honest now than keep the employer hanging at the middle of the contract. He told me that I have been doing a good job and he needs me in the team. He assured me that he will be flexible with time. Because he understood my predicament, I was allowed to adjust my work time from 8 hours a day to 4 hours until I get adjusted. I was grateful to him for giving me the chance to still continue the work that I have started. He thanked me for being open and honest.

What did I learn from this experience?

I learned that it is a good practice to have an open communication with the employer and to be honest in my dealings with him concerning my job, in order to gain his trust. There are many contractors out there, and he could have easily ended the contract to hire another, but he didn’t. Quality output is files2what matters to him. I made sure I deliver what is expected as early as the first task, putting my initiative to find all pertinent resources needed to get the job done. What could be the best motivation to achieve all these than “putting  myself into the shoes of the employer”, so to speak, and get it into my system to love my job and the employer’s business like it is my own.

Now, we maintain a healthy working relationship. I have adjusted to the Eastern time schedule, too. He goes about his daily business, while I continue to do my job and give my best, even without supervision. I give him updates on a daily basis, uploading documents for ready reference, determine possible problems and suggest solutions. He appreciates my work attitude, always thanking me for my contributions. I return the same respect and appreciation of his kindness and understanding by doing my job well and maintaining the quality of my work.

What more can I ask with this kind of  an employer?

(Want an update on this job? Read it here and be inspired.)

80309

10 thoughts on “The Spirit is Willing, But the Flesh is Weak

  1. i too have also asked one of my buyers to end my assignment with him because i was so overloaded with work already from another buyer. its really wonderful when you get to work with buyers who are understanding and compassionate about the status of their providers.

    • Hi Mike,thanks for your visit….
      Yes, its true that there are Buyers who really are understanding and very professional in their dealings. I guess its just a matter of being concerned also to them and their business. That way, we and our buyers can work towards the achievement of a common goal. It is better to be open to them, and getting your message across.

  2. Pingback: Wishful Thinking « My oDesk Milestones

  3. Pingback: Wear The Buyer’s Shoes « My oDesk Milestones

  4. Pingback: The Ladder of Success? « The Neophyte Freelancer

  5. Hi, I’m newbie in Odesk, been applying for a month but have’nt landed any job yet. I recently got an e-mail from a buyer..unfortunately, i got too excited that I was not careful in writing my reply…(he is a good buyer as seen in his feedbacks)..Anyway, i feel really sorry for myself for missing out in an opportunity to make good start and an impression. What makes it worst is that I don’t know how to write the buyer about my predicament..even just to tel him how sorry I am. Because I accidentally deleted his message in my inbox.

    Anyway, I am still very much in a positive vibe that one day a new buyer would see my profile and will give me a chance.

  6. Hi Sonia,
    Thanks for sharing your early experience, albeit “a sad one”, but this is a lesson learned.

    If I get your message right, you accidentally deleted his messages in your inbox (personal email?) If so, then there is still a good chance that the message is still in you Messages box at your oDesk profile. I would encourage you to check it out as soon as possible. I would also suggest that you enable forwarding of odesk email to your personal email. This way, you have some kind of a back-up.

    Cheer up! I’m sure there will be a lot more jobs for you. Just keep on applying to jobs suited to your skill set and schedule.

    God bless!

    Verena

  7. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    – Marc Shaw

  8. Pingback: Carrot, Egg or Coffee « The Neophyte Freelancer

  9. Pingback: Sow A Good Seed and Reap Good Harvest « The Neophyte Freelancer

Leave a Reply

