Archive | August 10, 2009

Goodbye For Now, But See You Around

odesk_logo_1

 

Two of my 6 assignments have ended. Both were of short duration but they were worth it.  I learned a lot and both Buyers were very nice.

business-man-showing-thumbs-up-sign-thumb6354877

In one of those, I was required to revise corporate records for a non-profit organization.  As usual, I did what is expected and delivered early results, sending the documents to the Buyer’s email for comment.  I waited for days before I was given a confirmation on whether my output met his expectations.  Finally, I received an email from him which said in part….”Sorry for the late reply.  It has been busy over the last few days.  I finally got the chance to go through your draft.  You did an excellent job.  Now, I need to process what you gave me.  Once I work on this, I will give it back to you again to work on.  I will start thinking about using you for other work also.  Thanks again for a good job so far.”

After more than a month, I did not hear anymore from the Buyer.  Until I received an oDesk notification inquiring on whether I still have work to do in this assignment. A few days after that, the Buyer sent me an email through oDesk, informing that his business venture with the non-profit organization did not push through.  His email said in part Since we haven’t been doing any more work on the job you were helping us with, we are going to terminate the job for now.  We may get back to it in the future and/or we may ask you to work on other projects but with the current inactivity on this job, we don’t want to leave it open…..We enjoy working with you so we will be in touch with more work when the time comes.  Thank you…”

 

In this case, it is indeed better to terminate the assignment, rather than keeping it open indefinitely, which could give an impression to prospective Buyers that I am fully loaded with work.  I replied and thanked the Buyer for the opportunity to have worked with him in the project.  After all, I learned a lot.  Since the assignment was completed successfully, I ended the assignment with the Buyer, rating him perfect 5.0 in each of the categories, with positive comment that he is a recommended Buyer.  I was hoping to receive the same feedback score and comment, but as of this writing the Buyer has not gotten in touch. But all the same, I have high regards to this Buyer.

As for the other ended assignment, it was also of short duration, but with high volume of work.  I spent a total of 199 hours to finish the task.  (This was where I got my budget to continue the finishing works in my attic!)

I took the opportunity to thank the Buyer for this assignment, and told them that I certainly enjoyed my job, and I hope to work with them again in future projects.  Their response came, also with a positive feedback (I scored a high 5.0).  Their final email to me reads Thank you very much for your efforts and for your assistance with the xxxxxxxxx Project…..but, alas, we have completed the project.  Consequently, we will soon end your assignment if we have not already done so.  We may want to process some of the xxxxxx documents someday, in which case we will keep you in mind.  Thank you for helping us and good luck in your future endeavours.”

search-for-job-thumb4686578

As soon as my oDesk calendar cleared some schedules that used to be devoted to these two assignments, I again applied to some job posts that fit my skill set and schedule.  What do you think happened?  I got invited to interview from all four (4) Buyers!

I’m again crossing my fingers on these  job opportunities.  I hope to be  hired in at least 2 if not all of them. Whatever may be the result, I will still thank them for the opportunity to have gotten myself  into the interview phase……

 

81009