A Life Well Lived

August 1, 2009

PHILIPPINES-AQUINO/The Filipino nation mourns the loss of a woman, a mother, a friend.  Former Philippine President Corazon Cojuangco Aquino returned to the Creator at  3:18 early this morning, after battling with colon cancer.  She was the first female president of the Philippines and was Asia‘s first female president.

I am not a Cory fan but I admire her strength and dedication.  Her love for democracy is unfailing.  As a plain housewife, she was thrust into the political arena unprepared, but her being inexperienced  never became a factor to not satisfactorily discharge her political duties.  She bravely stood up against her critics and led the nation to moral recovery.  Always clinging to the Lord’s guidance and protection, she remained steadfast in running the affairs of the State.  Despite negative remarks as to her capabilities, she remained an inspiration to a lot of Filipinos.  As a President she never lost her motherly touch in leading the nation – truly a mother of the people.

Thank you Madam Cory.

5 thoughts on “A Life Well Lived

  1. I agree with you Veren! Neither was I a rooter of the late Pres. Cory Aquino, but I really appreciated and was gratified with her great contributions to the Philippine democracy during the Edsa Revolution.

    My wife even shed her tears and lit-up a candle when she heard about the passing away of Pres. Cory Aquino. Right now me we both even got into wearing a diminutive yellow ribbon in our office uniform to show our gratitude for she truly exemplify the fearlessness of a true blooded Filipino.

    Mabuhay ang Lahing Filipino!!!

  2. Hi Tom! I’m glad you’re back….We miss you at the group site, too. You’ve missed a lot of scoop already. Hope to hear from you at the site. Thanks for visiting my blog again my friend!

  3. Hi Veren!

    How I wish I could read those messages posted in our site but right now all my messages to the yahoogroups or yahoo accounts are bouncing back! They are actually blocked in our system.

    Hope you could share them to me if you have other email adds..I mean..other than your yahoo…that is if I wont be asking too much my friend! Please tell our colleagues..OK?
    Im really dying to hear from you guys..!

    Take care my friend,

  4. You all seem to have real and warm friendships with each other. That’s rather…well…different than what I am used to seeing over the Internet. Don’t get me wrong. It’s a wonderful thing to see…just a bit different.

    It is unfortunate that one has to pretty much go outside the U.S. to find a culture where such friendships are fostered.

    Of course there are exceptions in the U.S. but overall U.S. relationships seem to be very superficial and generally distrusting.

    Carlos

    • Well, I would like to think that any culture has its own positive and negative side. It is how we look at things. We foster the positives, we learn from negative experiences and try to turn it around so it becomes constructive….

      In the Philippines, the culture of friendship and hospitality abounds. We are a close knit people, and this manifests anywere we are located….

      You are welcome to visit the Philippines anytime, Carlos….

Leave a comment